HOME-PAC Makes Endorsement in 2023 Houston Mayoral Race


After spending the last few months screening many candidates, HOME-PAC trustees voted to endorse Senator John Whitmire in his bid to become Houston Mayor.

Senator Whitmire visited HOME-PAC and spoke about his commitment to including stakeholders in the decision-making process for issues relevant to the homebuilding industry. With nearly 50 years of public service, Senator Whitmire is dedicated to the people of Houston and HOME-PAC is excited to support his campaign.

HOME-PAC has also endorsed incumbents making a bid to return to their city council seats in Houston, as well as several candidates in municipalities across our 11-county service area. See below for a full list of endorsed candidates, thus far.


HOME-PAC, the political action committee of the Greater Houston Builders Association, is an essential part of GHBA’s advocacy program. To learn more about HOME-PAC, including how you can join in the conversation, please visit: ghba.org/homepac/.

HOME-PAC Endorsed Candidates

City of Houston

Mayor of Houston: John Whitmire
Controller: Dave Martin
District A: Amy Peck
District B: Tarsha Jackson
District C: Abbie Kamin
District D: Carolyn Evans-Shabazz
District E: Martina Lemond Dixon  
District F: Tiffany Thomas
District G: Mary Nan Huffman
District I: Joaquin Martinez
District J: Ed Pollard
District K: Martha Castex-Tatum
At Large 2: Nick Hellyar
At Large 3: Twila Carter
At Large 4: Letitia Plummer
At Large 5: Sallie Alcorn

Regional Municipalities

City of Katy – May 6
CM At-Large: Chris Harris
CM Ward A: Janet Corte
CM Ward B: Rory A. Robertson

City of Pearland- May 6
Mayor: Kevin Cole
City Council Position 3: Alex Kamkar

City of Pasadena- May 6
CM District A: Ornaldo Ybarra
CM District B: Bianca Valerio
CM District C: Don Harrison
CM District D: Pat Van Houte
CM District E: Jonathan Estrada
CM District F: Phil Cayten
CM District G: Cary Bass
CM District H: Thomas Schoenbein

City of Baytown- November 7
CM District 4: Heather Betancourth
CM District 5: Jacob Powell
CM District 6: Mike Lester
City of Manvel- May 6
City Council Place 5: Jason Albert

City of Tomball – May 6
Position 1: John Ford
Position 5: Randy Parr